Our History

Camp Mah-Kee-Nac was founded in 1929 by camping great, Joe Kruger, on the shores of Lake Mahkeenac, now called Stockbridge Bowl in Lenox, Massachusetts. Joe was a pioneer in camping and was among the first directors to implement a systematic, education-based approach to the summer camp experience.¬†Joe’s vision is still alive at Mah-Kee-Nac and our philosophy, program and physical layout still reflect his child-centered vision. Joe’s contributions to camping have been acknowledged by his induction into the American Camp Association’s Legends of Camping.

925267_267380153445210_1931449395_nIn 1983, alumnus Danny Metzger and wife Nancy took over Mah-Kee-Nac. The Metzgers directed camp for almost 20 years, raising their three children there. The Metzgers were also partners in Camp Danbee, Mah-Kee-Nac’s sister camp. Under Danny and Nancy, Mah-Kee-Nac continued to be a leader in boys camping, modernizing facilities and program to meet the evolving needs of boys. Danny is also a founding director of America’s Camp, a camp that served children of 9-11 victims for 10 years. Camp Mah-Kee-Nac is proud to have been the original host site for this truly special camp.

The standard of excellence for Mah-Kee-Nac’s leadership continues with co-directors Rachel and Jamie Chadwin. The Chadwins bring more than 40 years of experience working with children, including a combined 18 years as Assistant Director and Program Director from Pine Forest Camp. Rachel and Jamie are proud of Mah-Kee-Nac’s community and are honored to carry on it’s long-standing philosophy and traditions.